Things I Love!

There are a lot of things that I couldn’t get through my training without. I often have people asking me about certain training aspects and things I use. I broke it down into each discipline, so feel free to skip to whatever interests you.

SWIMMING

It’s silly you’d think I’d have recommendations for swimming.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 2.17.02 PM

Kidding. The only recommendation I have is this little gem. The Dakine Alina. A lot of times I swim in the morning before work, so I need to shower and get ready at the pool. This little guy is the perfect size for things like shampoo, conditioner, razor, make-up, etc. It also has a hook on the inside so you can hang it in the shower or locker.

CYCLING

Pretty much the only cycling gear I own. Betty Designs has amazing gear. If you’re looking for something a little different than your typical boring cycling gear, check them out. It’s badass and functional.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 2.25.30 PM

RUNNING

Nathan has amazing products for running. I love this belt. I carry my phone for safety reasons. It keeps it in place as well as holds keys and treats that I need for long runs.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 2.18.45 PM

TRIATHLON GEAR

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 1.43.56 PM

Again, I can’t get enough of Betty! I wouldn’t race in anything else!

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 2.20.13 PM

I don’t do any type of training without my Suunto Ambit 2. GPS watches can be confusing. My Suunto is easy to use and it looks good! I’ve tried other GPS multi-sport watches, but this is by far my favorite. Perhaps a little pricier than most, but completely worth it.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 2.22.17 PM

Junk Bands! Whether I’m on my bike, leaving the pool or doing a Crossfit work out, I often am wearing one of these. They’re sized, so they don’t fall out and they have hundreds of different designs to choose from.

SUPPLEMENTS

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 2.11.31 PM

A little trick I learned along the way is to drink a protein shake BEFORE working out in the morning. Wow, has this changed my performance. I often feel sluggish just waking up and I’m the type that can’t get through a workout if I’m hungry. Progenex primarily sells to Crossfit athletes, but I use it before I swim in the morning and after any strength workout. It tastes delicious mixed with just water. My favorite flavor is Loco Mocha, but I have yet to try a flavor I dislike.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 2.09.57 PM

We all know the feeling of trying to workout after work or getting through an incredibly long set of swimming and it’s not fun! Black Market Labs AdrenHERlyn gives me the extra boost I need. I don’t drink it all the time, but it’s amazing when I need it. Yes, it is pre-workout but it gives you the sustained, non-jittery boost you need to get through it. I’m currently using Grape-Lime Ricky… just incredible! Added bonus, the AdrenHERlyn is made just for women who are making it happen.

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 2.01.50 PM

Finally, Clif Shot Bloks. You may or may not consider it a supplement, but I figured it fits. Clif was one of the first and I feel they’re doing it right. People usually have a love/hate relationship with either shot bloks or the gels. I’m a blok person myself and wouldn’t use anything other than Clif Shot Bloks.

There you have it, my shameless promotion of what keeps me going.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

